Park Board

Overview

The Park Board is a nine-member board established for the purpose of advising the City Council regarding the provision of adequate park and recreation programs and facilities for the enjoyment of all citizens. This board promotes recreation programs and recommends planning and operating policies for city parks.

Regular Meetings

  • First Wednesday of every month
  • 6:30 PM
  • Meets at various parks (see notices beforehand)
  • 2021 Meeting Schedule

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


Park Board Ad Hoc Bicycle Advisory Committee

The Bicycle Advisory Committee is an ad hoc committee to the Portage Park Board. This committee provides citizen input for planning bicycle transportation infrastructure improvements and promoting bicycling initiatives within the City of Portage. These initiatives have included programs, events and other efforts to promote bicycle education and safety. The Committee reports directly to the Park Board, which submits recommendations, program concepts and reports to the Director of Parks, Recreation and Senior Citizen Services.

2021 Meeting Schedule


First Tuesday of every month - 6:00 PM, Portage City Hall, 7900 South Westnedge Avenue

  • Tuesday, January 12 - Virtual, Webex
  • Tuesday, March 2 - Virtual, Webex
  • Tuesday, April 6 - Virtual, Webex
  • Tuesday, May 4 - Virtual, Webex
  • Tuesday, June 1 - West Lake Nature Preserve (9001 S. Westnedge Ave.)
  • Tuesday, July 13 - West Lake Nature Preserve (9001 S. Westnedge Ave.) 
  • Tuesday, August 3 - West Lake Nature Preserve (9001 S. Westnedge Ave.) 
  • Tuesday, September 7 - West Lake Nature Preserve (9001 S. Westnedge Ave.) 
  • Tuesday, October 5 - City Hall, Conference Room 1
  • Tuesday, December 7 - City Hall, Conference Room 1