Fall Leaf Pickup Program

The 2023 Fall Leaf Pickup Program will run from October 23 - November 30, or until prohibited by weather.


LeafPickup2013(2)Each fall, the City of Portage operates a leaf collection program that includes the collection of leaves along public streets in each zone. Leaf collection will occur three times in each zone or until prohibited by weather. The schedule below indicates the pickup dates for each neighborhood. Citizens may also use the handy Address Locator Tool below to identify collection dates.

View the Fall Leaf Collection Map.

Reminders:

  • ONLY loose leaves or leaves bagged in biodegradable paper bags will be collected.  Leaves in plastic bags (including biodegradable plastic bags) WILL NOT be collected.
  • Place leaves at the curb by 7 AM on your scheduled pickup date. 
  • Loose leaves should be raked off the grass and into the street. Leaves bagged in biodegradable paper yard waste bags should be placed next to the curb as close to the street edge as possible. Please do not block traffic or bike lanes
  • The Fall Leaf Pickup Program is separate from the Quarterly Curbside Brush Collection Program. No brush will be collected during Fall Leaf Pickup. 
  • Streets will be swept following the third and final collection, weather permitting.

There is NO burn period in Portage. Burning of leaves is not permitted at any time. 


2023 Fall Leaf Pickup Program Collection Dates

Zone1st Collection2nd Collection3rd Collection

1

Monday, October 23

 Monday, November 6

Monday, November 20

2

Tuesday, October 24

 Tuesday, November 7

Tuesday, November 21

3

Wednesday, October 25

Wednesday, November 8

Wednesday, November 22

4

Thursday, October 26

Thursday, November 9

Monday, November 27

5

Friday, October 27

Friday, November 10

Tuesday, November 28

6

Monday, October 30

 Monday, November 13

Wednesday, November 29

7

Tuesday, October 31

Tuesday, November 14

Thursday, November 30

ADDRESS LOCATOR TOOL

Portage property owners can use this handy address locator tool to determine the three collection dates for each neighborhood.  The tool is live only during the Fall Leaf Pickup Program dates.

This program is not performed for commercial establishments, churches or schools, or on private streets (unless every property owner on a private street has signed an indemnification form). Call the Department of Public Works at 329-4444 with any questions concerning the collection of leaves on private streets.