City Council Scheduled Meeting

4/24/2018 7:00 PM

Where: Council Chambers at City Hall

The City of Portage operates under a Council/Manager form of government. The City Council consists of seven members including the Mayor and the Mayor Pro-Tempore. Council members are elected to four year terms staggered every two years (three Council members elected every two years). The Mayor is elected every two years. The City Council is responsible for adopting and amending city laws and ordinances, determining city policies and standards, and authorizing the annual city budget. The Council also determines city tax millage rates, utility rates, approves contracts and agreements for the city and directs the City Manager. Council meetings are held twice a month on Tuesdays, at 7:00 p.m., in the Portage City Hall Council Chambers. The City Manager is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the city and is the chief policy advisor to the Council.