City Council

The City of Portage operates under a Council/Manager form of government. The City Council consists of seven members including the Mayor and the Mayor Pro-Tem. Councilmembers are elected to four-year terms that are staggered every two years (three Council members are elected every two years). The Mayor is elected every two years. The City Council is responsible for adopting and amending city laws and ordinances, determining city policies and standards and authorizing the annual city budget. The Council also determines city tax millage rates, utility rates, approves contracts and agreements for the city and directs the City Manager. Council meetings are held twice a month on Tuesdays, at 7:00 p.m., in the Portage City Hall Council Chambers.

The City Manager is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the city and is the chief policy advisor to the City Council. Citizens are encouraged to contact the City Administration with concerns or complaints about city services by calling Complaint Resolution at (269) 329-4404 or by using the online Report It! tool.

2017-2019 Portage City Council

Mayor Patricia Randall
(269) 324-7779
On Council Since: 2009
Term Expires: 2019

Mayor Pro Tem Jim Pearson
(269) 303-5459
On Council Since: 2011
Term Expires: 2019

Councilmember Chris Burns
(708) 710-3012
On Council Since: 2017
Term Expires: 2019

Councilmember Richard J. Ford
(616) 560-8328
On Council Since: 2013
Term Expires: 2019

Councilmember Lori Knapp
(269) 324-0178
On Council Since: 2017
Term Expires: 2021

Councilmember Claudette Reid
(269) 491-9725
On Council Since: 2005
Term Expires: 2021

Councilmember Terry R. Urban
(269) 323-8160
On Council Since: 1997
Term Expires: 2021